Governance Advisory Board

The Governance Advisory Board was established to ensure overarching governance and guardianship of the Auckland Te Ira Kāwai- Regional Tissue Bank. (ARTB)  The Board advises and monitors the activities of ARTB in accordance with the University of Auckland policy on Units, Centres and Institutes and tikanga o mana whenua.

Another key role of the Governance Advisory Board is to assist the ARTB Core Management Group (CMG) to ensure that the tissue banking activities are of the highest standard and meet the expectations of funders and relevant stakeholders.

Given its regional focus, the ARTB is committed to having representation from mana whenua, the contributing institutions, and the community.

Pru Etcheverry is the chair of the Governance Advisory Board. She is also the CEO of Leukaemia & Blood Cancer New Zealand.

Board members – Governance Advisory Board

Name Position
John Fraser Dean, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences
Tereki Stewart (Ngati Whatua) Chief Adviser Tikanga (delegated), Auckland District Health Board
Gloria Johnson Chief Medical Officer, Counties Manakau District Health Board
Margaret Wilsher Chief Medical Officer, Auckland District Health Board
Michael Rodgers Chief Medical Officer (delegated), Waitemata District Health Board
Anne Thompson Tissue Banking Expert
David Mace Community Representative
Pru Etcheverry, Chair Chief Executive Officer, Leukaemia and Blood Cancer New Zealand
Barry Smith Ethics Expert
Ex officio Position
Peter Browett Clinical Director, Auckland Regional Tissue Bank
Phillip Shepherd Manager, Auckland Regional Tissue Bank
Megan Putterill Strategic Engagement Manager, Auckland Academic Health Alliance
Gillian Nicholson Group Services Manager, School of Medical Sciences